Apply for WoWE's WINDPOWER Fellowship

Two opportunities are available to women college students or recent grads to attend annual AWEA WINDPOWER conference.

Rudd Mayer Fellowship Details

Wind at Our Backs Scholarship Details

How to Apply

WINDPOWER 2017 will be held from May 22-25 in Anaheim, CA.

All applications are still being accepted for both 2017 opportunities.

Extended Deadline: March 10th, 5pm ET


Rudd Mayer Fellowship

Each year, Women of Wind Energy awards fellowships to women college students or recent graduates to attend the annual American Wind Energy Association WINDPOWER conference. The fellowship honors wind industry pioneer Rudd Mayer of Boulder, Colorado, who passed away in 2002.

The Rudd Mayer Memorial Fellowships support women to participate in WINDPOWER, attending seminars on current wind energy issues, viewing state-of-the-art technology, meeting women and men in the renewable energy field, and connecting with employers about potential internships or permanent positions.

The Rudd Mayer Fellowship covers the cost of travel to and from the WINDPOWER conference site, conference registration, and lodging.

Rudd Mayer Fellowships are awarded on a competitive basis. Rudd Mayer Fellows are selected by the WoWE Board of Directors, based on:



Wind at Our Backs Scholarship

In 2016 WoWE was thrilled to partner with the Wind Energy Foundation and AWEA to launch a new scholarship program for women in or graduating from degree and training programs for wind technicians.

This Scholarship is focused on furthering the education of women in wind energy and is designed to help diversify the wind energy workforce and provide greater opportunities for women in the field. 

This scholarship, conceived by NextEra Energy, is sponsored by Blattner Energy, GE Renewable Energy, the NextEra Energy Foundation, and Suzlon.  With this generous support, the Wind Energy Foundation is now able to offer $2,500 scholarships.  The scholarship also includes the same benefits of WoWE's Rudd Mayer Fellowship: a trip to WINDPOWER, the industry’s premier trade show and educational event, where they can attend seminars on current wind energy issues, view state-of-the-art technology, meet others in the renewable energy field, and connect with potential employers. 

The scholarships are awarded on a competitive basis.  An application and evaluation process will be used to determine scholarship recipients, with a target of granting three-to-five scholarships each year.  Recipients will be selected based on the following criteria:

Detailed rules and terms for Wind at our Backs

How to Apply

Please note: Incomplete applications will not be reviewed .

You can begin your application in January 2017.
You will need to have the materials listed below ready in PDF or Word document form to upload into the system.

Application materials must include:

* Letters of Recommendation must be emailed directly to being sure the Applicant's name is included in the subject line.

IMPORTANT NOTE: The Wind at Our Backs selection process is connected to the Rudd Mayer selection process - so they use the same application form. Please complete the Rudd Mayer/Wind At our Backs Application, check your eligibility and upload the additional essay to be considered for the Wind at Our Backs scholarship. Any applicants not selected for the Wind At Our Backs scholarship will automatically be included in the pool of applicants for the Rudd Mayer Fellowship.

Click here to begin your application